Tragedy (Sinistre’s story)

I entered the study of Sinistre; he was working on something other than his normal philosophy; but he maintains it is all relevant to his general enterprise.

[M] Master Sinistre; I have a quandry I would like to address

As I entered, Mistress Antisophie entered also, I didn’t notice her behind me; she must have been doing something with Sinistre also

[A] A quandry, Magister? Please share with us; we are always here to help you, that is the nature of our roles. Destre wants you to be the leader of Areopagus one day; for a time when we shall not be here.

[M] That is a great pressure, indeed, Antisophie. It is this reason I wish to speak with you. Have you ever had to sacrifice something, or accept a loss, that was so important, that you questioned your motive to go on?

[S] Yes I have, young one (Sinistre’s tone went down, to a serious man). I’ve lost perhaps the greatest object of desire.

[A] You shall find, Magister, that all of us in Areopagus have made some sacrifice to be here. It is in virtue of our sacrifice that not only we remain, but that we are together in this uncomfortable union of adversaries.

[M] I’m sorry if I have caused any upset; Magisters. Perhaps this was an inappropriate question.

[S] No, its perhaps important you learn a moral today.

My loss came from being the only one of my kind. I am the last remaining Sinistrean. My bretheren were plentiful; but eventually became extinct. They were not hunted down and chased to the ends of the earth, but they abandoned their ways and died a death worse than murder. A death committed by themselves. I had a good friend, he was a brother, my twin; we did everything together, we could not be separated, I felt so much joy in being with him, the prospect that I were to be with him forever. That we were to be as one, was my answer to that Socratic question: how shall I live?

I lost him, and with his death, all the things that we shared slowly died away. In a way, I do fondly recall the memories and character of my fallen brother. But I can no longer be as I once was. I lost the most important thing to me; my love. The question should be; where do we go on from tragedy? It is important to remember the definition of the situation; although my brother died, I was still a Sinistrean. The last Sinistrean; or so I thought. I wish to seek others of my kind, Destre shares a similar dream, and we have commited to a truce to pursue that dream.

You will realise Michael, that loss happens to all of us, and the most tragic losses can really confound us if we invest a great deal into people, and projects; in short, the more we desire or hope for something, the harder we feel when we lose it. I am a man of desire and ends-based reasoning. I admire the sentiments; passions; inclinations; and pleasures. But I was also the student of Father Thomas. My great tutor gave me the moral education that is needed, but not sufficient, to do what we have to do. I loved my brother, and his loss was profoundly difficult.

[M] You seem never to show your pathos, Magister. Yet I understand the motivation of your concealment. It must make you feel very ill to constantly have to hide.

[S] Indeed it does, but your D-schema is more than helpful.

Enter Destre, unexpectedly, and weak in posture

[D] You are indeed helpful, sometimes the students mean a lot to the master, too, Sinistre. I hope Father Thomas loved you so. I shall answer your question too, Michael, for you see, our loves can take many manifestations, and the tragedy that seemingly inevitable that susues from it, is a very difficult issue in constructing a way to move on with life, to get on with every day…

The story shall continue, as Destre and Antisophie explain their tragic love…

You can leave a reply or comment here

