The correlation between celebacy and greatness

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celibacy#Notable_celibates

Preamble:

I have learned about the recent troubles with a (now known as a hoax) purported incident with the Anscombe society. What is the Anscombe society? I didn’t know, so I looked it up. (Elizabeth Anscombe was one of, if not, THE greatest philosopher of the 20thC, so a society named after her has attracted my attention most definately).

{source 1: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/12/18/nyregion/18hoax.html?_r=1&adxnnl=1&ref=nyregion&adxnnlx=1197979619-dkO91+H+njp1tCCfoYQdwA&oref=slogin]

My first discovery:

Okay. So, I looked up the Anscombe society, and they have pretty conservative (consistent with Anscombe’s own Catholicism, I must add) views on sexuality, and they made an interesting distinction (which I have never heard of) between “chastity” and “celebacy”. What is the difference? I asked myself… wikipedia has the answers…

{source 2: http://www.princeton.edu/~anscombe/position_statements/Chastity.htm}

My second discovery:

After looking at the article on wikipedia about celebacy; I found a list of ‘notable celebates’.. and I found basically a catalogue of people I admire:

i. Baruch Spinoza (rumoured, but not a terribly inconsistent rumour given his views on emotion and reason)
ii. Immanuel Kant (…)
iii. Stephen Fry (this one surprises me a lot)
iv. Isaac Newton (the hero of the enlightenment vision of discovery; and science and mathematics alike)

{source 3: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celibacy#Notable_celibates}

Some other interesting ones here…(who I don’t know much about, but sound interesting)

I: Pope John Paul II – erm, isn’t this obvious?
II: Paul Erdos – what’s YOUR Erdos number? (mwahahaha)
III: G.H. Hardy – apparently did stuff in number theory (mwahaha)
IV. Cliff Richard (“congratulations”….)
V. Mahatma Ghandi

What an odd correlation, methinks

Michael (and Antisophie)

You can leave a reply or comment here

