Train of Consequences [Megadeth], and Sinistre’s change

 Preamble

I woke up one morning, remembering my past love. Remembering that I could never have her, and the world that I live in can never be the same. I woke up, with my MP3 player right next to me; I thought I’d listen to something to cheer me up. I was sleeping on the floor, for some reason. I must have passed out; the last thing I remember was picking up some books, and feeling quite tired in my study.

I listened to the song. My objections to Michael about his like of Metal, almost faded away, when I listened to Megadeth’s “Train of Consequences”. The riffs, very rhythmic, yet there was such bright major scale colourings; The song, in the use of intervals like the major 3rd, gave a very positive outlook; the song, “Train of Consequences”. The lead and rhythm that work in tandem, make you want to smile, the bass is pumping, a little bluesy, like the old NWOBHM metal that we so hate, but there was no degenerate comments about women, this was hardly a positive song in lieu of the lyrics; instead, it was a very bleak song. I was feeling bleak. I can’t have the one I longed for the most. But I felt positive, why? Because life doesn’t revolve around her.

I realised, with the major third, and the very elaborate mixolydian (I think) mode solo. I talked to Antisophie about the song, later on in the Afternoon, over tea. Antisophie spoke of a similar warm feeling for this odd Megadeth song. Why is it so bleak? It is about a gambling addiction, an addictue of being controlled by one’s addiction, ones drive to gamble. Antisophie knows someone with a difficult addictive tendency which controls a lot of her; and she also sympathises with the control enforced. Perhaps Master Destre can speak the same. Something that makes you smile in the most bleak of times. That’s what Metal is about….

Sinistre

Train of Consequences 

I’m doing you a favor
As I’m taking all your money
I guess I should feel sorry
But I don’t even trust me
There’s bad news creeping up
And you feel a sudden chill
How do you do? My name is trouble
I’m coming in for the kill…
And you know I will

Set the ball A-Rollin
I’ll be clicking off the miles
On the train of consequences
My boxcar life O’ style
My thinking is derailed
I’m tied up to the tracks
The train of consequences
There ain’t no turning back

No horse ever ran as fast
As the money that you bet
I’m blowing on my cards
And I play them to my chest
Life’s fabric is corrupt
Shot through with corroded thread
As for me I hocked my brains
Packed my bags and headed west

Lyrics: Mustaine, D. Harris, S.

You can leave a reply or comment here

