Whatever happened to Etiquette?

During my upbringing I was educated to be a lady; adult men were referred to as Sir; women, Ma’am; letters began with ‘Dear’, and ALWAYS REFER TO PEOPLE BY TITLE: Magister Kant, Professor Balthasar, Father Thomas…

I have to admit that I do not uphold some RP standards of English; but I do expect a little bit of competence in this fine language.

Michael disagrees with my position in some respect; he claims that language is a organic, and ever-changing thing. Michael, often uses a lot of slang. Fuck, I do too. But the context-is-everything.

I think something is lost when the beautiful language that has been expanded by the likes of Shakespeare, or Tennyson when we abbreviate words like ‘you’ to ‘u’. While I can accept some introduction of new words (Michael’s favourite examples are ‘leet’, ‘n00b’, or ‘ pwned’.

Whatever happened to politeness; to authority figures not only giving respect, but maintaining it.

Whatever happened to the subservience of inferiors, not in the way of coercion; but as a matter of submitting to those who are more superior in terms of authority and power?

I guess what I want is that old world where respect was accorded to the best people (Aristoi), and the subservients knew their places. I guess the world is ruled by the subservient and the sycophantic, with only greed and self-fulfillment as their aims. The true leaders must have no personal goals; but seek only their own superiority, that of the institute that they represent, and deference to an even higher power, whether that be man, God, or themselves.

Antisophie

You can leave a reply or comment here

