Thine Brother: A thought on religiously motivated stigma

I was just thinking about of this a little while ago; during my education at the Collegium, they taught us a little bit of the Gospels. Jesus character indeed, he defended, what father Thomas called “the shit of society.” people like lepers, prostitutes, the blind, the taxman and those of other cultural backgrounds.

Is it not quite interesting, challenging, even, to befriend those who are different to you.

There is no doubt that in our current society, there are those who we exclude; the disabled, the mentally ill, those of different ideological background, those who are otherwise our nation’s brothers, but seem to us our enemy; loved thine neighbour is platitude that which we can still learn upon.

I remember I once had an evangelical Christian friend, with himself Michael and I had the most interesting discussions. we shared a pessimism about politics, we shared a hope for improvinghumanity in the future, we also had a mutual interest in Foucault, perhaps some of our friends were quite staunch atheist would be quite surprised at us that I had a very good friend in an evangelical Christian.

My Christian friend, reminded me that it is very unchristian behaviour to not love an individual unconditionally in virtue of them being human beings; Kant spoke of the formula of humanity: treat all other agents as ends in themselves, never using them as a means to an end, I think this is the most important aspect of Kantian ethics, besides the moral psychology.

To love my neighbour is the most difficult, we had ancient prejudices, some of my old colleagues in the Collegium had some of the deepest prejudices, against Protestants for instance, and also those who deviate from the sexual moral code. I found it quite interesting meeting my evangelical friend, he emphasised the importance of Scripture, where my training under the Jesuits, emphasised the church fathers Augustine and Aquinas.

In a vault at is also often to forget where theology comes from, my contact with theology involved Kant, postmodernism, feminist theology, Marxism, existentialism, and the Frankfurt School. interesting as it is,I have a tendency to overplay historisities such as philosophy and psychoanalysis, I suppose, what I am trying to express is that the practice of these platitudes moral, particularly that of embracing those different to us is that which is practical deliberatory significant, and goes beyond the mere theorising of our armchairs.

Furthermore, I find it hard to consider Christianity as something which is predominantly exclusive. It has so far as it socially excludes those who they were trying to save, it would make no sense that those who claim the name of Jesus stigmatise those such as homosexuals, those you may benefit from stem cell research, although, who as a victim of abuse or some kind of social ill, find a little bit of doctrine difficult to follow.

Sinistre

You can leave a reply or comment here

