Nightwish’s album Once (2004)

Being the summer of 2014, I can’t but help think how much has changed since 2004. A couple of things in particular come to mind. The summer of 2004 was when I did my ‘A’ Levels and I was as far as the law is concerned, a recognised adult. 2004 seems like a long time ago now and although I didn’t turn 18 during the 80s or 90s, I wonder if there was still a bit of naffness about my age.

 

On that related note I was notified that it is the 10 year anniversaries of the album Once, from Finnish heavy metal band Nightwish. I must admit that I did not discover Once until maybe 2005 or early 2006, but it became one of those era-defining albums for me that captured what it meant for me to be living in the 2000s and getting out of the teens.

 

I loved that album and then I then came to know the band Tarot through Nightwish. I think that I’m a bigger Tarot fan and their appeal still endures. However I find something curious about Once. There are moments when I listen to it and I wince. I wince because I find it is a little bit naff and at other points, more than a little bit naff. I’m not a big fan of the direction that Nightwish went into since Once but I still would eagerly follow any next albums or solo projects that the band has. Once in my view was the start of what made them really big. I could argue that it was actually Century Child but that was 2002 and I should have wrote that blog 2 years ago.

 

Lately I’ve had less time to write about philosophy and blog on Noumenal Realm, because I’ve been busy living. Living is not conducive to having particularly deep thoughts. I have realised that while living, the world inevitably changes around me and to a large degree I change around it too. When I reminisce albums like Once I am brought to bear on how much the 2000s changed from the 2010s. The sentiments, the fashions, the philosophies. I used to really love that album Once. I still like it for what it was, but admittedly, my music tastes have moved on significantly since then.

 

You can leave a reply or comment here

