Apps as ‘extended mind’

I am a sucker for startups and upcoming apps. I am a user of the site ‘Erlibird’ which screens ideas for effective life hacks or similar fun things for the modern 2010s person (not that I am such a person). I love trying out new ideas or new ways of representing or conceptualising things. However I do find that after giving something a try, I either adopt it, or I drop it.

 

I’ve dropped a lot of the ‘early adopter’ apps and services after I tried it. I found it wasn’t useful for me, or its usefulness is not currently applicable to me (for example I’m not much of a regular restaurant visitor or eater during the working week). I did really like the Jots.me service, which is supposedly a very dressed down ode to project management services like Trello.

 

Organising my time and my life is important to me because I want to take in new experiences and revolutionary changes, while not being so muddled in novelty that I don’t know who I am or change my hairstyle (figuratively speaking) more than I can actually grow it. I love reading blogs and magazines, but I hardly have time. I use Readability on the tube because it doesn’t need a 3g or wifi connection to read articles. Having said that, nowadays the tube has wifi — I have to say that blows my mind!

 

My life is organised by a few apps. These apps have become so routine I am reminded of Dustin Hoffman’s character in Rain Man whose stabilities in a changing and confusing world are moderated by the various rituals he has (such as watching Judge Wopner or wearing clothes from K-Mart).

 

A couple of years ago (or was it last year?), Google Reader closed down. I kind of felt a bit lost when that announcement came up. But then Feedly took the space in my heart left by GReader. My life is oddly construed and organised by technology and I am always weary whether I am working for the systems I put into place or whether these systems work for me.

 

What I would say (being normative) is that one should use apps and techniques and systems and tools that make life easier, however we can have so many tools that it becomes work to maintain them, and maintaining them can end up being our be all and end all. I used to idealise the notion of living minimally, but even that too is an idea, and I would say, a culturally constructed narrative.

 

Apps are inescapable now; even if we don’t use smartphones, we still have some form of extended mind. It’s a way of imposed thinking and imposed behaviour that is supposed to help us and make life more efficient. But it’s easy to forget that original intent. The way I see these apps is that it is a way of ‘outsourcing’ my brain to not do so much of the boring stuff and I can focus on the stuff that’s important, like working and playing; living and loving. The ideal of my use of ‘extended mind’ tools is to enlarge the time I have for things I love to do.

 

Of course, turns out it doesn’t work that way. I haven’t even got time to blog…

You can leave a reply or comment here

