In praise of the Notebook

I can’t remember who said it, but it was said that the notebook is a wasteland of the mind.

 

I’ve not been posting lately. I had found that I have less and less that was interesting to say. Then I discovered the notebook.I have 3 different kinds of notebook. The ‘prized possession’ notebook is a nice fancy leather-bound thing of beauty where its dog ears are affectionate and the words meaningful. I keep minutes of meetings I go to, and notes from when I am at a discussion group. I also keep a few cuttings from magazines of things that I deem worthy – such as when something of mine gets published on print, which happened a fair bit last year.

 

My other kind of notebook is the newspaper and magazine, flyers and receipts cut out collage. I find anything of the printed word in a physical form (physical defined by ‘can be glued by pritt stick’), and I put things together. Often political messages or things that define the zeitgeist of our day. For example, one thing that I’ve found interesting to keep an eye on is the current borders of control of what we call Ukraine, which seems to change weekly, that would be something very interesting to keep a printed version of to show its change. Like the ‘prized possession’ book, I have some collage notebooks which are very pretty and I am proud of, and then others which are more an experimentation of this collage-newspaper-cutting technique that I am playing with.

 

The final kind of notebook is a true toilet of my mind. I have a few lined books which I use to keep anything that’s on my head in. I keep things like a shopping list; things I need to do to keep the house tidy; maths working out from Khanacademy; playing with maths ideas to try and understand them in my head; playing with logic ideas; pseudocode ideas; doodles of me as an abominable snowman/yeti in various situations (usually sleeping) and sometimes, philosophical analysis.

 

I’ve found a certain kind of freedom of thought to using my notebook. I’ve thought about a lot of philosophical topics that I am hardly an expert on and played with some ideas, such as ‘game’ strategies (one of which is ‘when should I board the train in rush hour’? and ‘how do I decide what to wear during seasonal weather?’). The notebook is my naked thinking, warts and all, not fit for a reading public or an understanding public, andĀ has been my main form of communicating my ideas lately. As such, I have not much to blog about lately. Or better to say, nothing I want to put on this blog.

 

 

You can leave a reply or comment here

